## Warwickshire Beekeepers Association Solibull and District Branch

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 12th February 2024 at 7:30 p.m.

Present: There were 25 members present

- **1. Apologies:** Nicola Content, Richard Collins, Channy Collins, Richard Goulding, Val Parry, John Mellor, Valli Cawte, Bryan Fearn, Jim Hamilton, James Thorne, Marylyn Caruana, and Alan Taylor sent their apologies.
- **2. Minutes of the AGM held on 13h February 2023.** The minutes had been circulated via email. The minutes were accepted unanimously.
- **3. Matters Arising.** There were no matters arising.
- **4. Chairman's Report.** Denise reported that we had had a busy year with a wide range of speakers. The year started with a successful beginner's course with a number of the attendees now at the meeting. The apiary is in good shape and she thanked the Apiary Team for their work. Denise also thanked Nicola for the training programme. Thanks too to Roger and Rachel for the Honey Show. We have had a good Social Programme with the Chairman's Afternoon, Pizza and Puddings and the New Year Meal. Thanks to the committee and to Ian who was stepping down as Secretary.

## 5. Treasurer.

**Report:** The accounts were presented to the county earlier this month. We have had a much quieter year this year than previously. We have just over £6,000 including the Reserves Policy, so we are in line with the WBKA policy of ensuring that our funds are being invested in the craft of beekeeping. We have had a very bad year for honey – so our income from that has been down – but we had a higher attendance on the beginner;s course which balanced out a bit. We have done a full stock-take which explains why the Asset List shows an increased value – and the toilet is included in the buildings value as well.

We are moving into 2023-24 with £2,162 available to spend, most of which will probably go on the apiary.

Celia Davis proposed that we accept the report and Colin White seconded. It was passed unanimously.

**Capitation:** Louise proposed that the Branch Capitation Fee for 2025 be up to £7 per person. This was seconded by Roger Taylor and was accepted unanimously.

- **6. Election of Officers:** Denise Grove is in post as Chair and Louise Cameron-Ward is prepared to continue as Treasurer. Ian Davidson is stepping down as Secretary and Denise proposed that Margaret Mayhew take over. These posts were accepted unanimously.
- **7. Election of Committee:** Ian Davidson is prepared to remain on the committee. The remaining committee members (Andrew Heath and Colin White) were prepared to serve again. They were proposed en bloc by Denise Grove and seconded by Andrew Heath and accepted unanimously. Mandy Cadge is prepared to stand as Chair Elect. This was proposed by Andrew and Seconded by Colin and carried unanimously.

- **8. Appointment of Independent Examiner:** Ruth Galvin has examined our accounts for a number of years now. Louise proposes that we continue with Ruth as the Independent Examiner. Seconded by Andrew Heath. This was passed unanimously.
- **9. Date of next meeting:** 10<sup>th</sup> February 2025 at Solihull Methodist Church Hall.