## Warwickshire Beekeepers Association Solihull and District Branch

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 13<sup>th</sup> February 2023 at 7:30 p.m.

Present: There were 35 members present

**1. Apologies:** John Mellor, Jim Hamilton, Valli Cawte, Kay Davidson, Robert Vaughn, Richard Collins, Mary Thorne, and Gill Blocksidge sent their apologies.

**2. Minutes of the AGM held on 14th February 2022.** The minutes had been circulated via email. That the minutes were accepted was proposed by Maggie Tavilla, seconded by Louise Cameron-Ward. The minutes were accepted unanimously.

3. Matters Arising. There were no matters arising.

**4. Chairman's Report.** Andrew reported that it had been his third year as Chair – relatively 'normal' after 2 years affected by Covid. Andrew thanked the new Apiary Team for all the work they have carried out. We now have the new Composting Toilet which is waiting for its inaugural use and we have a concrete slab for dealing with smokers which should reduce the risk of fire in a dry summer.

Andrew thanked Denise Grove for the Beginner's course run in 2022 and for the new course running this year.

We have had 3 members passing the Basic Assessment, 1 member passing the Honey Bee Health Certificate and 3 passes of modules. Celia Davis has now stood down as the Education Coordinator – the role has been taken on by Sheila Vanhouse. Andrew thanked Celia for all the training she has brought, both to us and the wider beekeeping community.

Andrew thanked Roger & Rachel Taylor for organising the Honey Show and the Mowing Rota, Sheila Vanhouse for looking after the branch library, Ian Davidson for his work as secretary and Mandy and Denise for the buns thjey produce.

Andrew advised the meeting that the WBKA has changed to a CIO.

## 5. Treasurer.

**Report:** The accounts were presented to the county earlier this month. We have reduced the amount we have available from £11,045 to £7,023 – as a result of all the money we have spent on the apiary. As a result of WBKA changing to CIO, each branch has been asked to reduce the amount of cash they have – so we have achieved that. We have also amended our Reserves Policy, dropping it to £3,800. The Reserves Policy has to cover running the branch if we have no money coming in and to clear the site if the branch should cease to operate. This means that we have just short of £3,500 available to spend this year. The accounts were proposed by Celia Davis and seconded by Tre Simkin. The accounts were accepted unanimously.

**Capitation:** Louise proposed that the Branch Capitation Fee for 2024 be up to £7 per person. This was seconded by Andrew Heath and was accepted unanimously.

**6. Election of Officers:** Denise Grove was previously voted as Chair Elect, Ian Davidson is still prepared to do the Secretary role and Louise Cameron-Ward is prepared to continue as Treasurer. Andrew proposed that we accept those three. This was seconded by Aiad Al-Hussein and passed unanimously.

**7. Election of Committee:** Maggie Tavilla and Sarah Heath are both stepping down from the committee. Andrew thanked them both for their service. The remaining committee members (Andrew Heath and Mandy Cadge) were prepared to serve again. They were proposed en bloc by Denise Grove and seconded by Sarah Heath and accepted unanimously. Colin White has been nominated to join the committee – proposed by Maggie Tavilla and seconded by Andrew Heath. This also was carried unanimously.

**8. Appointment of Independent Examiner:** Ruth Galvin has examined our accounts for a number of years now. Louise proposes that we continue with Ruth as the Independent Examiner. Seconded by Denise Grove. This was passed unanimously.

**9. Date of next meeting:** 12<sup>th</sup> February 2024 – venue to be advised.